Dreams Do Come True (I saw Torres twice)


Hola,

The best stadium ever: Vicente Calderon

The best stadium ever: Vicente Calderon

I’m surprised it’s taken me this long to decide to share my happiness with everyone but here I am. When I moved to Madrid, I knew it would amazing to see Real Madrid play football at Santiago Bernabeu and seeing them play against Liverpool for the Champions League, 1 row from the pitch was just an added bonus. So I got to see Gerrard and the current LFC team and Ronaldo (although I hate him more than I like him).

11084267_980492058657674_433696172255418142_n (1)

But never in a million years did I think I’d be here typing this today. I was given the blessed opportunity to see Torres play live not once but twice for his home team, Atlético de Madrid. During Christmas holidays I was following the transfer rumours like crazy and once I heard about his loan to Atlético, I saved the ticket site as a bookmark on my phone – ready to buy any tickets I could get my hands on as soon as it was confirmed. And it was. I bought tickets to Atlético Madrid vs Almeria and Atlético Madrid vs Getafe. Both were incredible.

In the first match against Almeria, I bought myself a Torres scarf and I was waving it around from one of the highest stands in Vicente Calderon (he would never have been able to see me). I was way beyond excited and I kept getting laughed at by locals in the stand – screaming even if he was appallingly wide.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

During the most recent match, Atlético Madrid vs Getafe, Torres scored in the first minute. I hadn’t even sat down properly before I was jumping out of my seat screaming. I had an amaaaaaaazing view from the corner of the goal and I could see his little blonde head from the opposite side. I’ve been a Torres fan even since Liverpool signed him and he’ll forever be my favourite footballer in the world – he’s not the best, no. But he’s passionate, world class and so so humble.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So thank you Madrid, for giving me the opportunity to see my favourite footballer play his best at home. It wasn’t something I expected to happen but I’m oh so glad it did.

I hope those of you who know me will come to peace with my Torres-obsession. And those of you who don’t, welcome because it’s never-ending.

Adios,

x

Leave a Reply

